Contact Us
Home Page

Aston Clinton School

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

The National Curriculum 2014

Teaching at Aston Clinton is governed by the 2014 National Curriculum.  This is a framework used by schools to ensure that teaching is balanced and consistent. The National Curriculum sets out the subjects taught, the knowledge, skills and understanding required and standards and attainment in all of the subjects.


The National Curriculum is divided into blocks of learning, known as key stages:


Year 1 and 2 are known as Key Stage 1 (KS1)

Years 3 to 6 are known as Key Stage 2 (KS2)


The National Curriculum covers a number of subjects. These subjects are as follows:


Core subjects: English, Maths, Science;


Foundation subjects: Art & Design, Citizenship, Design & Technology, Modern Foreign Language, Music, PE, Geography, History, ICT, PSHE and RE.