Contact Us
Home Page

Aston Clinton School

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

KS1 & KS2

Teaching at Aston Clinton is governed by the 2014 National Curriculum. This is a framework used by schools to ensure that teaching is balanced and consistent. The National Curriculum sets out the subjects taught, the knowledge, skills and understanding required and standards and attainment in all of the subjects.


The National Curriculum is divided into blocks of learning, known as key stages:

Year 1 and 2 are known as Key Stage 1 (KS1)

Years 3 to 6 are known as Key Stage 2 (KS2)


The National Curriculum covers a number of subjects. These subjects are as follows:

Core subjects: English, Maths, Science;


Foundation subjects: Art & Design, Citizenship, Design & Technology, Modern Foreign Language, Music, PE, Geography, History, ICT, PSHE and RE.


English and Maths are taught in some form every day. Other subjects are taught weekly or are organised into topic units. The curriculum is organised across the year to link subjects wherever possible. Teachers in each year group work together to plan lessons. They use a variety of teaching methods with the whole class, groups or individuals and have regard for the way their pupils learn best.


Parents/carers can find out more about the topics covered each term by downloading topic guides from the 'Classes' section of this website.